Those working on this mod do so in their own free time and for no pay.
Show your support for them by enabling ads on this site!

- Chatbox: For random chatting, mod questions/suggestions go in the actual forums.

Author Topic: The game cuts slightly.  (Read 340 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

July 15, 2017, 05:17:34 AM

Offline kamil50000

  • Stormtrooper Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Approval: +0/-1
    • View Profile
The game cuts slightly.
« on: July 15, 2017, 05:17:34 AM »
I play only in some situations, such as I have many fighters next to each other and how far I map the problem disappears. My computer is:
Amd Athlon (tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ 2.30GHZ
3 GB RAM (DDR2 800)
Windows 7 64 bit
Ge Force 6150SE nforce 430 1GB (IntegratedRamDac)
BIOS wersion 5.61.32.19.4.
Man hoping to add frames to 6gb will help? PLEASE HELP.

July 16, 2017, 03:42:19 AMReply #1

Offline kamil50000

  • Stormtrooper Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Approval: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 03:42:19 AM »
Does this motherboard pays to improve on Trawn Revenge? The motherboard is Gigabyte ga M61PME-S2. PLEASE HELP. Power supply with reset function.

July 16, 2017, 04:01:15 AMReply #2

Offline kamil50000

  • Stormtrooper Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Approval: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2017, 04:01:15 AM »
I mean what improvements can be maximized to my computer

July 16, 2017, 04:35:40 AMReply #3

Offline Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,200
  • Approval: +351/-79
  • Dream Crusher
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2017, 04:35:40 AM »
I'm gonna respond here instead of responding to the PMs again- generally, you don't need to post and PM me the same stuff. I read everything at the same time.

The parts in that computer all seem a bit outdated- an upgrade in any area would see a bit of improvement, but you'd likely still have lag issues in large battles regardless of which individual component you upgrade. The most important would be CPU and GPU. If your budget only allows one thing, then go for whatever you can afford. If you can find a compatible graphics card that isn't just the integrated chip on your motherboard, you may wanna do that. A Motherboard upgrade is basically only gonna give you something if you're also upgrading your CPU and GPU, but getting anything more powerful by today's standards would likely require upgrading all 3 (you're probably not gonna find a new motherboard that can keep using those older components, and you're not gonna find a new Graphics card and processor that is likely to support that motherboard, I don't think).
I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about mod development and gaming, do tutorials, and Let's Plays. If you like the content, consider supporting it on Patreon


July 16, 2017, 05:04:07 AMReply #4

Offline kamil50000

  • Stormtrooper Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Approval: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2017, 05:04:07 AM »
In that case what kind of minimal equipment on the minimum details would give you advice? I will also add that only in big battles I cut but only a little bit. I have limited the number of units on each planet to 1 viscount and 1 lusankyi.Ai produces different units outside the sorveign and exekutorem (on the side of the empire) that I blocked (destroyed sorveign bursts with powerful effect and even pissed that superlaser) .On the previous post thank you and sorry I will write to you soon unless you are writing to me once. How would you like to use my modified xml files for your fashion? I just do not know if I will be able to send you these files because this is one campaign file and 8-12 other xml.

July 16, 2017, 09:29:17 AMReply #5

Offline Pali

  • Tester
  • Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Approval: +38/-2
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2017, 09:29:17 AM »
I'm no expert, but I suspect your problem is the graphics card more than your CPU.  In my experience, integrated graphics cards suck compared to their dedicated cousins, even if on paper they should have equivalent performance.  I'd try upgrading the graphics card before upgrading the CPU - if I've correctly looked up your motherboard, it should have an open PCIx16 slot for a decent graphics card, but make sure to verify that whatever GPU or other parts you get are compatible with your motherboard before buying them.  I once spent $300 on a CPU only to find I couldn't install it. ;)

You won't need a top of the line graphics card to run big ICW battles smoothly - my GTX 660 had little or no trouble a few years back until I started significantly increasing the maximum pop for space battles, and that card can be found on Amazon or Newegg for less than $150 USD.  A GTX 970 will cost twice that, and allowed me to play 100+ pop space battles in ICW with no noticeable slowdown or framerate issues - but you may find it more cost-effective to upgrade both your GPU and CPU together with less powerful components, as EaW and ICW won't demand enough from your system to require newer parts like the 970 unless you are really trying to push the game's boundaries.

Last and most important: if Corey or any other team member gives advice that contradicts mine, listen to them, not me. ;)

July 18, 2017, 05:03:01 AMReply #6

Offline kamil50000

  • Stormtrooper Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Approval: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2017, 05:03:01 AM »
$ 300 and what kind of processor? It will be on my monthly 1000 pln
I live with my parents and my rent is 700 pln? So much for me? Will something keep me?

July 18, 2017, 01:55:10 PMReply #7

Offline tlmiller

  • Tester
  • Moff
  • *
  • Posts: 2,392
  • Approval: +54/-9
  • Don't turn around you moron, ATTACK!!!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The game cuts slightly.
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2017, 01:55:10 PM »
You don't really have an upgrade path with the old socket 939.

Try getting a discreet graphics card for now (if you have pci-express, GT 1030 is one of the best low budget cards right now if you want new, if willing to buy older generation, GTX950TI can be found for about $20-$30 US more than the GT1030 and is quite powerful for it's price), and see if that helps enough.  If not, then you're looking at needing a new motherboard in order to upgrade your processor.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2017, 01:59:01 PM by tlmiller »
People should not be afraid of their government...governments should be afraid of their people.

 

Those working on this mod do so in their own free time and for no pay.
Show your support for them by enabling ads on this site!