Those working on this mod do so in their own free time and for no pay.
Show your support for them by enabling ads on this site!

Author Topic: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting  (Read 7596 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 31, 2012, 04:52:14 PM

Online Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
  • Approval: +238/-74
  • Full-Time Canadian
    • View Profile
Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« on: August 31, 2012, 04:52:14 PM »
If your mod crashes on startup, these are the most likely causes.

1. Make sure you completely remove 1.3 before installing 2.0. Do not install 2.0 directly over 1.3.
Just please, don't do it.

2. Make sure you have the Forces of Corruption RAM fix.
This can be found here: http://www.lucasarts.com/support/update/EAWFOC1_1.html#fix
The file you're looking for is called  FOC_RAM_MPLobby_update.exe

3. Make sure no other mods are installed into data.
You can have as many mods as you want in your mods folder, but if you have one hard installed overwriting the main Forces of Corruption data folder, it will cause a crash.

4. Make sure you're giving it enough time to load.
Unless you actually get an exception error, chances are you're just not giving the mod enough time to load. The mod is quite large, so it can take a few minutes to startup, especially on older machines.

If you've tried all of these, and still have problems, respond to this thread and I will try to help you.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 04:56:36 PM by Corey »

September 04, 2012, 05:51:29 PMReply #1

Offline KierenHorn

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2012, 05:51:29 PM »
It would seem I just can't get the game to start. I load up the game, the initial image shows and then it just crashes to desktop. :(

September 04, 2012, 09:16:20 PMReply #2

Online Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
  • Approval: +238/-74
  • Full-Time Canadian
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2012, 09:16:20 PM »
Do you get any error messages or does it just go from the Stormtrooper shoulder to desktop without the exception notice or anything?

September 04, 2012, 09:53:02 PMReply #3

Offline KierenHorn

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2012, 09:53:02 PM »
It says the program has stopped responding. It never finds a reason why though.

September 05, 2012, 05:30:56 PMReply #4

earl

  • Guest
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2012, 05:30:56 PM »
Well here is what i am getting i don't even get it to load :'(

« Last Edit: September 05, 2012, 06:32:04 PM by Corey »

September 05, 2012, 06:32:49 PMReply #5

Online Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
  • Approval: +238/-74
  • Full-Time Canadian
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2012, 06:32:49 PM »
Do you have the RAM patch we link to in the manual?

September 06, 2012, 02:11:13 AMReply #6

Offline KierenHorn

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2012, 02:11:13 AM »
I do.

September 06, 2012, 01:08:00 PMReply #7

Offline KierenHorn

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2012, 01:08:00 PM »
Solved it with a simple re-install. ^_^

September 06, 2012, 02:29:40 PMReply #8

earl

  • Guest
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2012, 02:29:40 PM »
Hey i got it thanks 8=)

September 17, 2012, 03:30:35 PMReply #9

Offline mbmcdon

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2012, 03:30:35 PM »
When I start up the game, (starting at the main battlescreen to launch the game) all of the buttons and icons are messed up. It's like the MTD file has bad icons in it, or is corrupted, but when I open it with the MTD extractor, everything looks OK. I'm not sure what the issue is.

Any thoughts?

September 17, 2012, 03:32:28 PMReply #10

Online Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
  • Approval: +238/-74
  • Full-Time Canadian
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2012, 03:32:28 PM »
Do you have the first hotfix?

September 17, 2012, 06:36:05 PMReply #11

Offline mbmcdon

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2012, 06:36:05 PM »
No I didn't. I forgot about that, but that fixed the problem. Thank you!

October 02, 2012, 11:21:29 PMReply #12

Offline MarekVulen

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2012, 11:21:29 PM »
Game freezes/crashes at stormtrooper shoulder.  I alt+tab and see a message stating that an error has occurred and please see _logfile.txt and _except.txt (which I can't seem to find anywhere).  The error dialogue box gives me the option to cancel or to retry and attempt to debug the program.  If I click cancel the program immediately shuts down.  If I click retry, I get the message that SWFOC has stopped working.  I have installed the hotfix and the RAM fix and FOC is updated to 1.1.  This MOD is the only one installed in my mods folder and I have no mods hard installed. 

October 07, 2012, 07:56:50 PMReply #13

Online Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
  • Approval: +238/-74
  • Full-Time Canadian
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2012, 07:56:50 PM »
Steam or retail?

October 10, 2012, 07:41:41 PMReply #14

Offline MarekVulen

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2012, 07:41:41 PM »
retail

October 10, 2012, 08:00:13 PMReply #15

Online Corey

  • Mod Leader
  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
  • Approval: +238/-74
  • Full-Time Canadian
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2012, 08:00:13 PM »
Can you go into your Forces of Corruption\Data folder (not the mod's) and check if there's an XML folder with two files called Gameconstants.xml and Graphicdetails.xml in there?

October 10, 2012, 09:55:13 PMReply #16

Offline MarekVulen

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2012, 09:55:13 PM »
I have both files in that folder.

October 12, 2012, 12:44:32 PMReply #17

Offline ritterkreuz

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2012, 12:44:32 PM »
What if I don't have that Xml folder or those files?  Does that mean I'm measing the. Ram fix?

October 12, 2012, 02:08:20 PMReply #18

Offline Slornie

  • Administrator
  • Moff
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,473
  • Approval: +39/-13
  • Every Silver Lining has a Cloud
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2012, 02:08:20 PM »
What if I don't have that Xml folder or those files?  Does that mean I'm measing the. Ram fix?
It's possible. I would certainly recommend you try installing the RAM Fix since you reported in your other post that you're having trouble starting the mod.
Quote from: RonMaverick291 (Gametrailers)
why do u hate america? if it were not for us u guys would be lost. i mean we invented the tv, we invented the internet, cars and we even went to the planet moon. we won all the wars and we always help the little countries who cant fight and we give food to poor people.

October 13, 2012, 09:09:23 AMReply #19

Offline ritterkreuz

  • Stormtrooper
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Approval: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Imperial Civil War 2.0 Startup Troubleshooting
« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2012, 09:09:23 AM »
Thank you Slornie, I'll give it a go.

 

Those working on this mod do so in their own free time and for no pay.
Show your support for them by enabling ads on this site!